Mouriño and the cartels

Nina, fellow Fulbrighter and researcher on Mexican government policy, has posted her take on the plane crash, with a great summary of the recent (and violent) history between Mouriño, the Mexican Government, and the drug cartels.

With each passing day, I grow more confident that this was just a terrible tragedy.  But as Nina’s discussion shows, the history here is a story in itself…. it’s no wonder that the public has reacted with such skepticism and fear.

 

México, D.F.

 


Rather than a new post, I’d thought I’d add on this link: BBC: Mexican authorities rule out a bomb (in English)

More on the local reaction….

I’ve got nothing new to say, but these interviews (from El Universal / in Spanish) do a good job of capturing the opinions and fears of many other people that I’ve talked to.