The Cocktail Without a Name

When out at a cantina, one of my favorite drinks to order is a cocktail made with Bacardi Blanco (shameless plug), a white rum.  I don’t know the name of the drink, I only know to order the ingredients: the rum in a highball glass with ice, a coca lite, a plate full of limes, and a salt shaker.  I think what I like most is that I get to assemble it myself at the table; I’m my own personal bartender.  The very ingredients, themselves, make for a strange mix… frankly, I don’t like “rum & cokes” and the thought of salt in a cocktail seems, well, odd.  But… if you can balance out the ingredients just right, this nameless cocktail has a fantastic balance of sweetness, saltiness, acidity, and alcohol.  And those definitely go together!

Part of the enjoyment of the drink is the process of making it… gathering the ingredients; slowly squeezing the limes so that the juice and some pulp runs into the glass; adding a splash of coca lite, and then a healthy dash of salt; stirring, tasting, stirring, tasting; adding more salt and stirring some more.  Strangely enough, the drink takes a seeming overdose of salt and lime in order to reach taste perfection, but adding more than a splash of coke often upsets the balance and overpowers the other flavors.

What I like most is that I get to assemble the drink myself.

What I like most is that I get to assemble the drink myself.

I tried making this back in the U.S. once, but with only little success.  Not only can it be hard to find Bacardi Blanco (another shameless plug) up north, but Coke and Diet Coke taste different, too.  Some things, it seems, may always remain uniquely Méxicano.

 

The Cocktail Without a Name

  • 1 generous serving white rum, i.e. Bacardi Blanco (final shameless plug)
  • 2 small limes, halved
  • splash of coca lite (or coca normal)
  • salt (don’t be shy!)
  1. Pour the white rum into a highball glass over ice.
  2. Squeeze the juice of the two limes into the glass, don’t worry about the seeds.
  3. Add a splash of coca lite.  This will give the drink a cloudy, brownish color.
  4. Add salt three or four shakes at a time; stir and taste; keep adding salt until you can strongly taste the saltiness, but are not put off by it.

 

México, D.F.
2 Responses

  1. I was looking for info on the swine flu, and found your Mexican Flu blog, very nice by the way. This cocktail is called “Cuba con limón y sal”. It’s called Cuba because it comes from “Cuba Libre” (free Cuba) as it mixes rum (typically cuban) and Coke (typically american). It’s very tasty and now you know how to ask for it.
    By the way, for tacos al pastor go to El Borrego Viudo at night, it’s in the corner of Viaducto and Revolución. Also, La Pingüica, in San Cosme and Circuito Interior, in front of a former film theater. You’ll enjoy them!!

  2. El Borrego Viudo is a classic and deserves its reputation as a late-night destination for grease. La Pingüica… that’s a new one… and something to look forward to for “after the epidemic.”

    And thanks for the name of the drink. A year of mystery has been solved!

Leave a Reply

