Taco Update!

Yeah, yeah, I know!  It’s about time for another taco count update.

Today, my friend Liz (if she blogged, I’d put link here) and I grabbed dinner at El Califa, a “taqueria” in La Condesa.  I put taqueria in quotes because the place is about as Mexican as Chili’s, the B&G back in the states.  Now, don’t get me wrong, the tacos are fanfreakingtactic, but this place is _high_ end (and not 2 pesos each!).  When you get a steak taco… it’s a steak in a tortilla.  Not some piece of nameless cafeteria-style mystery protein that’s been shredded to bitsy pieces — oh, no… this is a full-on-slab-o-cow.  Mooooooo!  Oh, the meaty juiciness…….  Slap on some carmelized onions, a few grilled-to-sweetness cactus paddles, and salsa so dark you feel it’s gravitation from your seat the second they slide it onto the table… and then drench the whole monument to “sabor”iness with the juice of a helpless baby lime.  Oh, it’s that kind of freaking tastic.  I spent $15; now I need a nap.

After the indulgence at El C., the total taco consumption count now stands at 75.

 

México, D.F.

Leave a Reply

